Lazienki Park and Palace in Warsaw

 

Home > What to see > Outside the Centre > Lazienki Park and Palace

Lazienki Park and Palace
Lazienki is a park of area of 73ha which contains many tourist attractions. History of park goes back to 17th century when Marshal Stanislaw Herakliusz Lubomirski engaged Tylman van Gameren who built a hermitage and a bathing pavilion here on an island. Today’s name of park – Lazienki, comes from this bathing pavilion because Lazienki means “bath/bathrooms”.


Present shape of the park comes from 18th century when Stanislaw August Poniatowski decided to lay it out as a formal garden. In same period of time, former bath pavilion was refashioned into a royal residence – Lazienki Palace on Water which now houses a museum. Park pulses with life all year round. Major tourist attractions of the park include:

Palace on the Water which is the most prominent example of Polish 18th-century classical architecture. During the Second World War it was demolished but after the war reconstructed and art collections of Stanislaw August Poniatowski were returned. Since 1960 the palace has been a branch of the National Museum. The royal apartments still house original king’s items like table and bed. Ballroom Bachus room and bathroom with its Dutch tiles are also worth visiting.

Gardens of the Royal Summer Residence of the last king of Poland Stanislaw August are open daily, from dawn till dusk. All historical buildings are open from Tuesday till Sunday from 09.00 a.m. till 04.00 p.m. Entrance ticket to Palace on the Water costs 12 PLN per person (normal ticket) and 9 PLN per person (students and kids).

White Maisonette was constructed between 1774 and 1777 in the style of an Italian villa resembling an inkstand. It was made for the king to entertain his mistress. Entrance ticket to White Maisonette costs 5 PLN per person (normal ticket) and 3 PLN per person (students and kids).

Myslewicki Palace was built in 1775 – 1784 in the village of Myslewice for prince Jozef Poniatowski - nephew of Stanislaw Augustus Poniatowski. In 19th century it was a military school here which student were those who attacked Belvedere Palace in the beginning of November Uprising. Today building houses Museum of Ignacy Paderewski and Museum of Polish Emigration. Entrance ticket to Myslewicki Palace costs 3 PLN per person (normal ticket) and 2 PLN per person (students and kids).

Old Orangery is picturesquely located at the foot of the scarp. In 1774 – 1778 Dominik Merlini created the Stanislawowski Theatre in the Old Orangery. It is one of the few remaining 18th-century court theatres in the world. Entrance ticket to Old Orangery costs 6 PLN per person (normal ticket) and 4 PLN per person (students and kids).

Monument to Chopin was sculpted in 1908 by Waclaw Szymanowski but unveiled in 1926. Positioned at the side of a lake, it depicts Poland’s most celebrated composer sitting under a willow tree, seeking inspiration from nature. Today this monument is a widely-recognised symbol of Warsaw.

Theatre on the Island is in fact an amphitheatre with a stage designed by the prolific J. C. Kamsetzer in 1790 – 1791. The stage has a permanent backdrop imitating the ruins of a temple in the ancient city of Baalbek in Lebanon.

Temple of the Sibyl was built in the classical style in about 1820. Building is made of wood and makes reference to the antique Greek temples.

New Orangery was built in 1860 – 1861 in cast iron and glass, designed by Jozef Orlowski and Adam Loewe. One of the most expensive restaurants may be found here called Belvedere. Restaurant hosted Queen Elizabeth II, former German Chancellor Helmut Kohl and other famous guests.

*free admission on Thursdays to all attractions

[Outside the Centre]





« back

 
 
 

This site uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work. OK