Nieborow town near Warsaw

 

Home > What to see > Outside the Town > Nieborow

Nieborow
Nieborow is well-known for its Baroque palace. Originally it was built as a Gothic – Renaissance manor house in the 16th century. Between 1690 – 1696 it was rebuilt in Baroque style for its owner Primate Michal Radziejowski, Archbishop of Gniezno by Dutchman Tylman van Gameren. Around palace a symmetric garden was laid out. Later owner of palace, Prince Michal Oginski, ordered to adorn façade with a Rococo figure portraying a dancing Bacchus, with a bunch of grapes and a garland on his head.


In 1923 the second floor was added to the palace and its interiors were rearranged. Palace has a rectangular plan, with two side towers with Baroque copulas. Today it is a museum of 17th to 19th century interiors. The Roman Corridor on the ground level contains ancient sculptures and sarcophagi of stone. The finest rooms are on the first floor, reached by the staircase laid with Dutch tiles from 1700s and decorated with portraits of King Stanislaw August Poniatowski in coronation robes, Barbara Radziwill and King John III Sobieski. The palace is surrounded by the park. The garden ornaments include four stone Turkic Baba figures brought from the steppes on the Black Sea in 12th century and two Roman columns. The right side of the park behind the canal is an English landscape garden from the late 18th century. To the right of the entrance gate is the former majolica factory which operated from 1881 until 1906. In 1981 a pottery studio was opened in the old factory building, where replicas of a century old works are made.



« back

 
 
 

This site uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work. OK