Nozyk Synagogue in City Centre of Warsaw

 

Home > What to see > City Centre > Nozyk Synagogue

Nozyk Synagogue
The Nozyk Synagogue was built in 1898 – 1902 and funded by Zelman and Ryfka Nozyk. It is located at Twarda Street at the back of the Jewish theatre. The entrance is modern and uninteresting but the building itself is authentic with neo-Romanesque and byzantine elements.


The interior has an impressive portico, crowned by a metal dome bearing the Star of David, which contains the Ark of the Covenant. In the centre of the nave is a raised pulpit known as a bema. Bema is a special pedestal where the Torah scrolls are placed while they are read. The nave is surrounded by galleries that were originally intended for female worshippers. Nozyk Synagogue is today the only active Jewish temple in Warsaw and is open to visitors on Thursdays.



« back

 
 
 

This site uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work. OK