The Old Gunpowder Store in New Town of Warsaw

 

Home > What to see > New Town > The Old Gunpowder Store

The Old Gunpowder Store
The building was designed and built by Erazm Cziotko of Zakroczym in 1575. Initially it was used as a gatehouse to protect the bridge over Vistula River.


In the early 17th century the bridge was destroyed and the gatehouse was used as a gunpowder storeroom. In 1794 during the Kosciuszko Uprising it was turned into a prison for traitors. Finally in 1831 the prison was closed and it was changed into a hotel. The hotel was burned during World War II and reconstructed in 1961-65. Today, the Old Gunpowder Store hosts the theatre Stara Prochownia.



« back

 
 
 

This site uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work. OK