Warsaw Old Town Travel Guide

 

Mermaid Monument


more
The Mermaid Monument is Warsaw’s icon. It was made by Konstanty Hegel in 1855. At ground level under her stone pedestal there is a fountain that burbles and reminds passersbys of the connection with the Vistula River. The mermaid has been the symbol of Warsaw for centuries.

Monument of the Little Insurgent


more
The monument made of bronze presents a young boy soldier wearing oversized helmet and clutching a Sten gun. It symbolises the children who served as messengers and who fought during the 1944 Warsaw Uprising. On the wall behind the monument words of a popuar song from the period are engraved: ‘Warsaw children will...

Cathedral Chapter Square


more
Cathedral Chapter Square is a small triangular square in the Old Town. Formerly this place was a cementary, which existed there until 1889.

Jan Kilinski Monument


more
The monument was sculpted by Stanislaw Jackowski. It was unveiled on 19th of April 1936 and positioned on Krasiński Square. During Second World War it was removed and partially damaged, to be placed in a new location on 3rd May Avenue.

Swietojanska Street


more
Swietojanska Street connects the Old Town square and Royal Castle square and is one of the most representative streets of the Old Town.

Palace under Metal Plate


more
'The Palace under Metal Plate' is a part of Royal Castle. Its strange name comes from the copper roofing which was not too popular in 1720s. Because of atmospheric factors today the roof has a light-green colour.

The Ghotic Bridge


more
The Ghotic Bridge was build on the cups of the 15th and 16th centuries. It runs over the moat in front of the former Cracow Gate, which during medieval times gave travellers access to the south.

The Barbican and City Walls


more
Old Town of Warsaw is ringed by sections of old defensive city walls. It is pretty big portion as for the European capital. Construction of the walls began in the first half of the 14th century. Works were continued until the mid-16th century. It is possible to walk along the walls through the special trail running...

Church of St Martin


more
It was founded for the Augustinian Order in 1354 and destroyed during World War 2 in 1944. Only a partially burned crucifix survived which is now located in the central nave. Interior was minutely restored to a design by Sister Alma Skrzydlewska and the crucifix incorporated into modern design.

Jesuit Church


more
Next to the Cathedral is the Jesuit Church of the Virgin Mary of Grace founded by King Zygmunt III. It was built for the Jesuit Order between 1609 and 1629, at the same time as the monastery. This Mannerist-Baroque church dedicated to the Merciful Mother of God survived almost untouched until 1944 when it was...

Cathedral of St John


more
St John’s Cathedral is the oldest church in Warsaw, built at the turn of the 14th century and reconstructed in the Gothic style. Two coronations of Polish Kings took place here: of Stanislaw Leszczynski in 1704 and Stanislaw August Poniatowski in 1764.

Royal Castle


more
The decision to build the Royal Castle was made when Zygmunt III Vasa moved the capital from Krakow to Warsaw in 1596. Castle was completely destroyed by the Germans during World War 2 and reconstructed from 1971 to 1988 thanks to efforts of the whole community.

Castle Square Zygmunt's Column


more
The first part of Castle Square was in existence in 1644 but completed at the beginning of 19th century. After the World War 2, the burger’s townhouses were restored which today surround the Castle Square. In the middle of the square stands the oldest secular statue in Warsaw – Zygmunt’s Column.

Old Town Square


more
Old Town Square is a rectangular square of 90m by 73m and existed on the site of modern Market Square on the turn of the 13th and 14th centuries. Until the beginning of the 19th century it was an administrative and commercial hub of the city.

Warsaw Old Town


more
The Old Town history goes back to the late 13th . Today's look is due to complete reconstruction (1949 – 1963) after it was destroyed during World War 2. It is the oldest quarter of Warsaw and has a preserved medieval street plan.
 
 
 

This site uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work. OK