What to see in Warsaw

 

Mermaid Monument


more
The Mermaid Monument is Warsaw’s icon. It was made by Konstanty Hegel in 1855. At ground level under her stone pedestal there is a fountain that burbles and reminds passersbys of the connection with the Vistula River. The mermaid has been the symbol of Warsaw for centuries.

Monument of the Little Insurgent


more
The monument made of bronze presents a young boy soldier wearing oversized helmet and clutching a Sten gun. It symbolises the children who served as messengers and who fought during the 1944 Warsaw Uprising. On the wall behind the monument words of a popuar song from the period are engraved: ‘Warsaw children will...

Cathedral Chapter Square


more
Cathedral Chapter Square is a small triangular square in the Old Town. Formerly this place was a cementary, which existed there until 1889.

Jan Kilinski Monument


more
The monument was sculpted by Stanislaw Jackowski. It was unveiled on 19th of April 1936 and positioned on Krasiński Square. During Second World War it was removed and partially damaged, to be placed in a new location on 3rd May Avenue.

Swietojanska Street


more
Swietojanska Street connects the Old Town square and Royal Castle square and is one of the most representative streets of the Old Town.

Palace under Metal Plate


more
'The Palace under Metal Plate' is a part of Royal Castle. Its strange name comes from the copper roofing which was not too popular in 1720s. Because of atmospheric factors today the roof has a light-green colour.

The Ghotic Bridge


more
The Ghotic Bridge was build on the cups of the 15th and 16th centuries. It runs over the moat in front of the former Cracow Gate, which during medieval times gave travellers access to the south.

The Barbican and City Walls


more
Old Town of Warsaw is ringed by sections of old defensive city walls. It is pretty big portion as for the European capital. Construction of the walls began in the first half of the 14th century. Works were continued until the mid-16th century. It is possible to walk along the walls through the special trail running...

Church of St Martin


more
It was founded for the Augustinian Order in 1354 and destroyed during World War 2 in 1944. Only a partially burned crucifix survived which is now located in the central nave. Interior was minutely restored to a design by Sister Alma Skrzydlewska and the crucifix incorporated into modern design.

Jesuit Church


more
Next to the Cathedral is the Jesuit Church of the Virgin Mary of Grace founded by King Zygmunt III. It was built for the Jesuit Order between 1609 and 1629, at the same time as the monastery. This Mannerist-Baroque church dedicated to the Merciful Mother of God survived almost untouched until 1944 when it was...

Cathedral of St John


more
St John’s Cathedral is the oldest church in Warsaw, built at the turn of the 14th century and reconstructed in the Gothic style. Two coronations of Polish Kings took place here: of Stanislaw Leszczynski in 1704 and Stanislaw August Poniatowski in 1764.

Royal Castle


more
The decision to build the Royal Castle was made when Zygmunt III Vasa moved the capital from Krakow to Warsaw in 1596. Castle was completely destroyed by the Germans during World War 2 and reconstructed from 1971 to 1988 thanks to efforts of the whole community.

Castle Square Zygmunt's Column


more
The first part of Castle Square was in existence in 1644 but completed at the beginning of 19th century. After the World War 2, the burger’s townhouses were restored which today surround the Castle Square. In the middle of the square stands the oldest secular statue in Warsaw – Zygmunt’s Column.

Old Town Square


more
Old Town Square is a rectangular square of 90m by 73m and existed on the site of modern Market Square on the turn of the 13th and 14th centuries. Until the beginning of the 19th century it was an administrative and commercial hub of the city.

Warsaw Old Town


more
The Old Town history goes back to the late 13th . Today's look is due to complete reconstruction (1949 – 1963) after it was destroyed during World War 2. It is the oldest quarter of Warsaw and has a preserved medieval street plan.

Church-of-the-Hospitallers-Brothers-of-St-John-of-God


more
The church was designed and built in the years 1724-1726 by the architects J Fontana and A Soari. The Brothers Hospitallers of St John of God for a few decades ran the hospital in the building of the 18th-century monastery.

Collegium Nobilium


more
The Collegium Nobilium was built between 1743-1754. It was a school founded by Stanisław Konarski for the sons of the nobility. The school existed until 1832 and was one of the predecessors of Warsaw University.

Warsaw Citadel


more
The Citadel is a massive 19th-century fortress overlooking the Vistula. It was built by the Russian tsar Nicholas I to intimidate Warsaw following the November Insurrection of 1830.

Romuald Traugutt Park


more
Romuald Traugutt Park was built in 1925 in the area of the former fortress and Citadel. It was designed by Leon Danielewicz and Stanislaw Zaroda-Zycienski.

Sapieha Palace


more
This palace was started by the powerful Sapieha family who gave the name to the building, It was built by the Chancellor of Great Lithuanian County, Jan Fryderyk Sapieha and designed by royal architect Jan Zygmunt Deybel between 1731 and 1746.

The Old Gunpowder Store


more
The building was designed and built by Erazm Cziotko of Zakroczym in 1575. Initially it was used as a gatehouse to protect the bridge over Vistula River.

Church of the Visitation of the Virgin Mary


more
Legend says that the Mother of God appeared to a rich but childless miller, who asked her for a son. The Holy Mother asked him to build a church where he saw a snowcapped hill and to baptize the son he was to have in the newly built place of worship.

Church of St Kazimierz


more
The complex of the Church and Convent of the Holy Sacrament was designed by Tylman van Gameren and built in 1688 – 1692 by King Jan III Sobieski and Queen Maria Kazimiera. The complex possesses pieces of baroque art and the gravestone of Marie Charlotte de Bouillon, who was the granddaughter of Marie’s husband.

New Town Square


more
New Town Square lies in the heart of New Town. At the turn of 14th and 15th century it was laid out as a spacious rectangular square. Until 1818 it had its town hall standing in the middle of the square. Today it is a triangular-shaped square.

Church of St Jacek Dominican Convent


more
The combined St Jacek’s Church and Dominican Convent are regarded as the largest sacral complex in Warsaw and were built by Joannes Italus between 1612 and 1638. The original church possessed fourteen altars and five chapels. In 1944 it was adapted as a hospital, treating injured insurgents of the Warsaw Uprising.

Monument to the 1944 Warsaw Uprising


more
Warsaw Uprising was fought in August and September 1944. In a combined effort, soldiers and civilians fought together for 63 days to expel the Germans and regain control over their own city. Despite their brave efforts and the initial success, the citizens of Warsaw lost after Hitler sent for reinforcements.

Raczynski Palace


more
This building was first constructed as a regular house between 1702 – 1704. Around 1750s it was remodeled into a palace and in 1768 it was rebuilt to a design by the royal architect Jan Chrystian Kamsetzer. The most interesting and beautiful feature of this building is the ballroom located on the first floor which...

Church of the Holy Spirit


more
The little wooden Church of the Holy Spirit existed since 14th century. It was burnt down by Swedish invasion in 1655. The present church was constructed between 1707 – 1711 to replace the previous building and was also rebuilt after World War 2.

Warsaw New Town


more
The New Town was founded at the turn of the 15th century and was reconstructed after the last war in its shape from the 18th and 19th century. It was destroyed in 80% during the Second World War and reconstructed in the 1950s with architecture relating to the style of the 18th and 19th centuries.

Monument to the Heroes of the Ghetto


more
The Monument to Heroes of the Ghetto is located by the square of the same name between Anielewicza, Zamenhofa, Karmelicka and Lewartowskiego streets. It was created by the sculptor Natan Rapaport and the architect Marek Suzin and unveiled in 1948, shortly after the end of Second World War when the whole city still...

Umschlagplatz Square and Monument


more
Umschlagplatz Square is the site where the former railway was siding on Dzika Street. From here around 300,000 Jews from Warsaw Ghetto and elsewhere were loaded onto cattle trucks and dispatched to almost certain death in the extermination camps, mainly to Auschwitz and Treblinka.

Pawiak Prison


more
Pawiak Prison was built in 1830s by Henryk Marconi on the command of the Russians. In the times of tsar, political opponents were imprisoned there. However, it gained the fame during the Nazi occupation, when it was used to imprison Poles and Jews arrested by the Germans.

Nozyk Synagogue


more
The Nozyk Synagogue was built in 1898 – 1902 and funded by Zelman and Ryfka Nozyk. It is located at Twarda Street at the back of the Jewish theatre. The entrance is modern and uninteresting but the building itself is authentic with neo-Romanesque and byzantine elements.

Palace of Culture and Science


more
Palace of Culture and Science is a landmark of Warsaw City visible from every corner of the capital. It is a huge building in the very centre of the city. It was a “gift” for the people of Warsaw from the nations of USSR. It was built in 1952 – 1955 to the design of a Russian architect, Lev Rudniev.

Evangelical Church of the Augsburg Confession


more
The Evangelical Church of the Augsburg Confession was designed by Szymon Bogumil Zug and built in 1777 – 1781. This Neo-Classical building is crowned by a dome 58 m high. For a long time the church was the highest building in Warsaw and bore witness to the religious tolerance of the Polish nation and of Stanislaw...

Saxon Gardens and Tomb of the Unknown Soldier


more
The Saxon Gardens were laid out between 1713 and 1733 by August II Mocny (the Strong) to a design by Jan Krzysztof Naumann and Mateus Daniel Poppelmann. In 1727 they became the first public park in Poland and served as a summer salon for Varsovians.

Plac Teatralny


more
Plac Teatralny is located close to the Old Town and Krakowskie Przedmiescie Street. It is the cultural heart of Warsaw. In the 19th century the square was dominated by huge National Theatre designed by Antonio Corazzi and Ludwik Kozubowski and completed in 1833.

Plac Bankowy


more
Plac Bankowy used to be a quiet little square but today is one of the most busiest places in Warsaw. Before the collapse of the Ghetto Uprising in 1943, the largest synagogue in Warsaw stood in this square. The most interesting buildings stand on the west side of the square.

Przebendowski Radziwillow Palace


more
Palace was built in 1728 to a design by Jan Zygmunt Deybel. This late-baroque three-storey palace is easily recognizable for its oval shape of the frontal part. It used to stand in narrow shopping street but after East – West route was constructed in 1949 it became surrounded by major traffic artery.

Pac Palace


more
Palace was built in 1728 to a design by Jan Zygmunt Deybel. This late-baroque three-storey palace is easily recognizable for its oval shape of the frontal part. It used to stand in narrow shopping street but after East – West route was constructed in 1949 it became surrounded by major traffic artery.

Branicki Palace


more
Palace was built in 1740 to a design by Jan Zygmunt Deybel and completed by Giacopo Fontana. It was built for Jan Klemens Branicki who was powerful magnate, adviser to August III and a connoisseur of fine art.

Primates's Palace


more
Palace was built for Primate Michal Radziejowski in 1691. Before it was old manor from 16th century which was converted into a palace. Since 1691 it was a home to Polish Primates, highest officials of the Catholic Church for around 200 years.

Warsaw City Centre


more
By “city centre” we mean the area between bordered by Jana Pawla II street from the west, Stawki street and Muranowska street from the north, Miodowa Street and Czackiego Street from the east and Aleje Jerozolimskie from the south.

Modlin Fortress


more
Modlin Fortress is situated 35 km from Warsaw. Fortress was built for Napoleon Bonaparte in 1807 – 1812. It was defended for the first time in 1813 by Polish and French soldiers against Russians. From the upper floor more distant targets could be shot at while the bottom floor protected the access to the moat....

Zegrzynski Lake


more
Zegrzynski Impoundment Lake is located approximately 40 km from Warsaw and can be reached through Jablonna village. Lake was created in 1963 when waters of Narew River were dammed. It created and area of 33 km2 with a maximal depth of 15 meters. Today Zegrzynski Impoundment Lake is the centre of leisure and water...

Kampinoski National Park


more
Kampinoski National Park is called “lungs of Warsaw”. It is because it begins at Warsaw’s city limits (toward west direction from Warsaw) and in terms of area ranks among the biggest forests in Poland. It is a primeval forest inhabited by such denizens as red deer, elk, cranes and black storks. A dense network...

Treblinka


more
Two concentration camps were established here by Nazis: first called Treblinka in 1941 and Treblinka II in 1942. Camps were located approximately 100 km from Warsaw. Treblinka I was a penal labour camp which functioned until 1944. Approximately 7000 people died here from slave labour and in executions. Majority of...

Niepokalanow


more
Niepokalanow is situated 40 km west of Warsaw on the road to Poznan. It consists of the Franciscan Church and Monastery founded by Father Maximilian Kolbe in 1927. Father Kolbe was arrested by the Nazis during Second World War and taken to Auschwitz, where he gave his life for another prisoner who had family....

Brochow


more
Brochow exists on a tourist map thanks to the defensive church which resembles a castle. It was built in Mazovian Gothic style in 1551 – 1561. Its Renaissance interior is covered by a barrel vault of the Pultusk type, decorated with a geometric pattern. In 1806 Fryderyk Chopin’s parents had a wedding here and...

Nieborow


more
Nieborow is well-known for its Baroque palace. Originally it was built as a Gothic – Renaissance manor house in the 16th century. Between 1690 – 1696 it was rebuilt in Baroque style for its owner Primate Michal Radziejowski, Archbishop of Gniezno by Dutchman Tylman van Gameren. Around palace a symmetric garden...

Arkadia


more
Arkadia lies close to Lowicz on the way to Nieborow. It is a romantic landscaped park with beautiful historic gardens. It was founded in 1778 by Princess Helena Radziwillowa. Park covers area of 44,4 hectares and is definitely one of the finest parks in Poland.

Lowicz


more
Lowicz was established in the 13th century. It used to be the seat of the archbishops of Gniezno, was also the capital of the Lowicz Duchy. Residence of the bishops was the castle which did not remain. But this small town has some remarkable old architecture. On Kosciuszki Square stands the monumental Renaissance...

Czersk


more
Today Czersk is just a small village but with very long history. A fortified settlement existed here from the 10th century. From 1240 Czersk was a Duchy capital and it was a town from the mid-14th century until 1869. In the 14th a castle replaced the stronghold and a town developed below it. Czersk lost its role of...

Czerwinsk nad Wisla


more
The church and monastery in Czerwinsk nad Wisla (on the Vistula) are among the oldest buildings in Mazovia region. The abbey of the Canons Regular brought from France was founded here by Piotr Dunin in the 12th century. The monastery existed here by 1155 and the Romanesque basilica was probably built in the time of...

Zelazowa Wola


more
Zelazowa Wola is a must see for all who love music of Fryderyk Chopin. This small village situated 52 km from Warsaw is a birthplace of Poland’s most famous composer of all times. The first mentions of Zelazowa Wola come from the first half of the 16th century.

Wilanow Park and Palace


more
Wilanow complex is located at the end of the Royal Route and it reminds about a glorious period in Polish history. Wilanow Palace was built in the end of the 17th century as the summer residence of King Jan III Sobieski who in 1683 won the battle at Vienna and saved Europe from Turkish invasion.

Praga District


more
Praga is an old district of Warsaw city on the eastern side of the Vistula river. City centre, Old Town, New Town, Lazienki Park and Palace are all located on the western side of the river. It is the only place in Warsaw where you can see remains of the 19th century industrial town because Praga was not affected as...

Krolikarnia Palace


more
At the time of the Wettin dynasty Palace housed a rabbit farm and that is where the name of Palace comes from (Krolikarnia means “rabbit farm”). It is a square building covered with a dome, recalling Andrea Palladio’s masterpiece, the Villa Rotonda, near Vicenza.

Lazienki Park and Palace


more
Lazienki is a park of area of 73ha which contains many tourist attractions. History of park goes back to 17th century when Marshal Stanislaw Herakliusz Lubomirski engaged Tylman van Gameren who built a hermitage and a bathing pavilion here on an island. Today’s name of park – Lazienki, comes from this bathing...

Belvedere Palace


more
Belvedere Palace is located at the end of the Ujazdowskie Avenues, right next to Lazienki Park. History of this building goes back to the 17th century. In the time of Stanislaw August it was a porcelain and faience factory. Its present form in Baroque style dates from 1818 when it was remodeled by Jakub Kubicki for...

Church of St Stanislaw Kostka


more
Church of St Stanislaw Kostka is located in the northern part of Warsaw in Zoliborz District. It is well known church in Warsaw because of the grave of Father Jerzy Popieluszko. His grave is in the church cemetery, covered with a stone cross and surrounded by linked rocks arranged in the manner of a rosary.
 
 
 

This site uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work. OK