University of Warsaw


Home > What to see > Royal Route > University of Warsaw

University of Warsaw
Today’s University occupies building which was built by King Jan Kazimierz in 1634 as his summer palace called Villa Regia. It used to be King’s favourite residence. In the first half of the 17th century, the palace belonged to the Vasa dynasty.

After rebuilding it was adopted as a school and when the foundation of the University was announced in 1816 the building became its seat. The Russian Tsar accepted the institution with its five departments: law, administration, medicine, philosophy, theology and fine art. However after the November Uprising, the University was closed as the majority of students had participated in the rebellion. University was opened again in 1859 with only one department of medicine and surgery and later 3 departments were opened. During World War 2, Germans forbade teaching and University was officially closed until 1945. Today University of Warsaw has 18 departments and 25 interdisciplinary centers organizing courses. It is the largest educational establishment in Poland. There are several buildings in the University’s complex which are mostly used as its administrative center.

« back


This site uses cookies. Some of the cookies we use are essential for parts of the site to operate and have already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but parts of the site will not work. OK